top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJames Cole

Your Horses

So, here's a recent piece. It hasn't been edited or anything so feel free to rip it to shreds. This was written as 1/24/2019 of my year-long poem a day challenge.


Your Horses

You forget

you read the gate open

Ur head said I would regret it

but you mouth couldn’t

shape the words

Okay?

Are you okay?

Put that cheek on the mattress

and fall back on a nap

Falling is easiest when you

precarious stand long

alling it all

When you wake up

your horses will be saddled

so you may take

a ride with wide strides

jounce the someday away

When you come in

they’ll be hitched for you

wild in reins and loving

themselves for longer

than your childhood self

could count out loud

Your horses misbehave

they gave away

their manes for fiddlebows

You couldn’t forgive them

a little glue and gluttony

will weigh their tastes

To this day I can’t eat red meat

26 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heart of Unlightedness

I’ve been listening to my usual hipster bullshit again, so I got to thinking. Side note: I hope that in an alternate reality, Alexander Pope (or someone very near him) would’ve written his famous coll

I write like...

The other day I was reading about prose styles on some website (I couldn't find it again for some reason) and the author was talking about "how to know your writing." She went on to describe her own s

Untitled by Anonymous

I finally understand why Emily Dickinson hardly ever created titles for her works. All too often, a title can make or break a poem. With my recent train of works I've noticed that most of my poem titl

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page