top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJames Cole

What to do, what to do...

Updated: Jan 30, 2019

You know, writing a novel sucks. It has its high points, sure, but it also really, really sucks Yesterday, while I sat half-caffeinated-to-oblivion plugging away at my novel/chapbook I started to wonder how some of the literary greats handled the stress of writing long-form fiction. Of course, the one that comes to mind first is Stephen King, a creepy goblin-author whose breakneck writing pace has become the stuff of legend in the writing community. There's one story (that I can't be bother to look up so I'm paraphrasing) where he and George R. R. Martin were at some talk. Georgie-boy was going on about writer's block when he turned to Stephen saying, "don't you just have days where you're stuck, where nothing comes out onto the paper?" (again paraphrasing). In response, Stephen's all "No, of course not." Mr. King rarely produces less than 1200 words a day, even on holidays. I guess that's why he's written upwards of 58 novels and over 200 short stories. The man is a beast. But when you're a world famous author with a staff of highly paid editors I suppose he can get away with it. So Stephen may not be the best example of creative fatigue. What about some other famous authors? I did a little digging and found some very telling quips.


George Orwell said:

" Writing a book is a horrible, exhausting struggle, like a long bout with some painful illness. One would never undertake such a thing if one were not driven on by some demon whom one can neither resist nor understand."


How about Phillip Roth?

"The road to hell is paved with works-in-progress."


Virginia Woolfe?

" Literature is strewn with the wreckage of men who have minded beyond reason the opinions of others.”


I think you all get the point. Either way, whatever I produce I can at least remind myself I haven't been lazy about it- at least not intentionally lazy.

Stay tuned for more updates. I'll probably post another poem on here soon. That's all for now folks-

20 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heart of Unlightedness

I’ve been listening to my usual hipster bullshit again, so I got to thinking. Side note: I hope that in an alternate reality, Alexander Pope (or someone very near him) would’ve written his famous coll

I write like...

The other day I was reading about prose styles on some website (I couldn't find it again for some reason) and the author was talking about "how to know your writing." She went on to describe her own s

Untitled by Anonymous

I finally understand why Emily Dickinson hardly ever created titles for her works. All too often, a title can make or break a poem. With my recent train of works I've noticed that most of my poem titl

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page