top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureJames Cole

Eunoia and Such

I just got back from Eunoia and wow what a great line-up tonight. Music, beat-boxing, poetry- all awesome. Seriously, if any of you all are in the Charlottesville area, try to come out Thursday nights. I, unfortunately, needed my phone for a few poems so I didn't get to record it but I promise to film next time.


Anyway, I just realized that I haven't posted any writing here today, so I thought I'd post one of my daily poems. It's just a short piece from my self-published zine "Jimble Jamble Life in Shambles." It's fun, quippy, and a little thought provoking.


A Thought is a Thought is a Thought...

I don’t think anybody

could be ever so inclined

to write down your needless ramblings

then try to read your mind


You are your own best friend, my friend

It’s really quite insane

In the end I’d be surprised

if even you could know your brain


You are your own worst enemy

your fears and words conjoin

How fitting then we trade our thoughts

for a shiny copper coin



Here's the illustration that accompanied this piece

11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Heart of Unlightedness

I’ve been listening to my usual hipster bullshit again, so I got to thinking. Side note: I hope that in an alternate reality, Alexander Pope (or someone very near him) would’ve written his famous coll

I write like...

The other day I was reading about prose styles on some website (I couldn't find it again for some reason) and the author was talking about "how to know your writing." She went on to describe her own s

Untitled by Anonymous

I finally understand why Emily Dickinson hardly ever created titles for her works. All too often, a title can make or break a poem. With my recent train of works I've noticed that most of my poem titl

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page